LOGIN or REGISTER for exclusive access to premium content

Good Evening friend!
Fire department honors outstanding members
January 27, 2011 Jerry Purvis    Photo by Jerry Purvis/Gering Citizen

Read more by Jerry Purvis
Anthony Murphy was presented with the LeRoy Elliott Firefighter of the Year Award at the Gering Volunteer Fire Department’s annual banquet last Friday.
Murphy, who joined the department in April 2008, earned the award based on activities such as hours of training, emergency response and fire prevention.

A member can win Firefighter of the Year Award only once in his or her career with the department. The award is decided by nominations from past winners, who then vote for the next winner.
“We have a lot of dedicated people in the department,” said Fire Chief Jay Templar. “They continue putting forth the effort to respond to calls, take the training and be involved in everything we do. We’re fortunate to have all the good people we have.”
Templar said the department responded to 512 calls in 2010, which is about average. About 380 of those calls were requests for emergency medical service and for motor vehicle accidents.

The year also saw 37 fire calls. “We were fortunate in that there wasn’t anything real serious that involved a lot of property loss,” Templar said.

Also honored during the banquet was the department’s Top Ten, based on involvement in department activities and training. “It’s quite an honor in our department to land in the top 10,” Templar said. “Those firefighters are working their rear ends off to get to that point.”

This year’s Top Ten were: Ron Doggett, Nathan Flowers, AJ Hauck, Ken Hauck, Thomas Modena, Anthony Murphy, Greg Rahmig, Grant Severson, Darrell Vance and Jeff Vance.

Nick Flowers and Matt Hessler were recognized for five years of service, Nathan Flowers and Chuck Scott for 10 years, and Rusty Pierce for 25 years of service to the Gering Volunteer Fire Department.
Login to leave a comment