LOGIN or REGISTER for exclusive access to premium content

Good Morning friend!
High school publications win state awards
October 18, 2012 Jerry Purvis   

Courtesy Photo Gering and Scottsbluff journalism students were in Lincoln to accept Cornhusker Awards for excellence in both newspaper and yearbook journalism. Front row from Gering: Kayla Todd, Holly Grote, Kaitlyn Krzyzanowski, Kendall Uhrich, Liz Millay and Alexa Anderson. Second row from Scottsbluff: Lexi Webber, Katey Myers, Jon Wiebe, Luke Parsley, Deanna Cortez and Spencer Lake.

Members of the Gering High School journalism department returned from Lincoln on Monday with a couple of prestigious awards.

The Blue Prints newspaper staff and the Kennel yearbook staff were both honored with the Cornhusker Award, presented by the Nebraska High School Press Association.

The awards, covering the 2011 – 2012 school year, were “the highest award for journalistic excellence in high school publications.”...

(The rest of this story is available to Subscribers only. Please subscribe or login here if you are already a subscriber)
Login to leave a comment