LOGIN or REGISTER for exclusive access to premium content

Good Morning friend!
GHS journalists take state championship again
April 18, 2013 Jerry Purvis   

Read more by Jerry Purvis
For the third year running, the Gering High School journalism and yearbook staff has claimed the state Class B championship, sponsored by the Nebraska High School Press Association and the Nebraska State Activities Association.

Students who have been on the championship team for all three years include Kaitlyn Krzyzanowski, Alexa Anderson and Kendall Uhrich, who is editor of both the Blueprints newspaper and the school yearbook. She also writes a weekly column for the Gering Citizen newspaper. “It feels good that people are noticing your work,” Uhrich said.

The students also set a new state record for total points this year with 86. “That in itself is pretty amazing,” said journalism and yearbook adviser Janelle Schultz. “Eighteen first place finishes really speaks to what these students were able to accomplish. They know there’s a level of expectation when they come into the program and they work toward that goal. I just can’t say enough about this group of students. They are busy in sports, course work and other activities and get they put forth 100 percent of their efforts every day to produce quality journalism. I am so proud of each and every one of them.”

Gering journalism students placed at least one member in each of the competition’s 21 categories: 18 in first place, 10 in second and 12 in third.

Schultz said that although there’s some teaching about online journalism and blogs, most of the course work is still paper and pen, although students can now submit stories they’ve published online. “That’s still the basics of good journalism,” she said.

For competition purposes, entries are submitted in March and judging results are returned in April. The state championships are based on the total number of sweepstakes points each school earns. Students will be in Lincoln on May 13 to compete in the all-class state championships.

Gering journalism and yearbook students placing in the top three in the following categories were: Advertising: Jasie Beam; Column Writing: Tanner Baird; Editorial Cartooning: Cara Wimberley; Editorial Writing: Alexa Anderson and Kendall Urich; Entertainment Writing: Alexa Anderson and Kaitlyn Krzyzanowski; Graphic Illustration: Alexa Anderson; Headline Writing: Katherine O’Boyle, Amber Fertig and Alexa Anderson; In-Depth News Coverage: Alexa Anderson, Tanner Baird, Kendall Uhrich, Michael Marsh, Kaitlyn Krzyzanowski and Elizabeth Millay; News Writing: Kendall Uhrich and Tanner Baird; News/Feature Photography: Michael Marsh and Katherine O’Boyle; Newspaper Feature Writing: Alexa Anderson; Newspaper Layout: Tanner Baird and Kaitlyn Krzyzanowski; Photo Illustration: Michael Marsh and Alexa Anderson; Sports Feature Writing: Katherine O’Boyle and Gage Winkler; Sports News Coverage: Elizabeth Millay, Holly Grote and Kendall Uhrich; Sports/Action Photography: Alexa Anderson and Katherine O’Boyle; Yearbook Feature Writing: Jasie Beam and Kayla Todd; Yearbook Layout: Kaitlyn Krzyzanowski; Yearbook Sports Feature Writing: Kendall Uhrich and Katherine O’Boyle; Yearbook Theme Copy Writing: Amber Fertig, Kendall Uhrich and Kayla Todd; Yearbook Theme Development: Kendall Uhrich, Kayla Todd and Amber Fertig.
Login to leave a comment