LOGIN or REGISTER for exclusive access to premium content

Good Evening friend!
Chamber honors its community movers, leaders
January 30, 2014 Jerry Purvis   

Read more by Jerry Purvis

John Marshall – Visionary Rising Star Award

The Scottsbluff-Gering United Chamber of Commerce presented its annual awards during a Tuesday evening banquet at the Gering Civic Center.

The Visionary Rising Star Award is presented to a chamber member who has been in business five years or less who has also given of themselves, their time, talents and resources to benefit the entire community.

The 2014 honoree is John Marshall of Platte Valley Companies, J.G. Elliott Co. A Scottsbluff graduate, Marshall earned his bachelor’s degree in business administration from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln in 2003. He earned his MBA from Creighton in 2006.

Marshall is a commercial lines producer with J.G. Elliott Co. and targets accounts throughout the region. His volunteer work includes United Way, Monument Prevention Coalition, Rotary Club (where he was recognized as Rookie of the Year for 2012) and NEXT Young Professionals. He has also been a mentor for Teammates.

The Visionary Super Star Award is presented to a chamber member who has been in business for six years or more and has provided a service to the community, both through their work and through their time and talent.

This year’s Visionary Super Star is Dawne Wolfe, who for the past 22 years has been with the Scottsbluff branch of the First National Bank of North Platte, where she’s now the vice president of commercial banking.

A UN-L graduate, Wolfe earned her paralegal degree in Denver in 1990, where she met her husband, Jeff. In 1991, they moved to Scottsbluff.

Wolfe has been an active volunteer in the community, serving with the United Way and organizing the Ladies Night Out event. She’s the current president-elect nominee for Scottsbluff/Gering Rotary, is a member of Soroptimists and the Financial Women of Nebraska. She’s also been active in Cub Scouts, Geil Elementary Booster Club and the Chamber’s Adopt-a-School program.

The Trailblazer Award is presented to a person who is an outstanding leader in the business community and shared of their time and talents for community betterment.

The Trailblazer Award was presented to Jim Holland, publisher of the Scottsbluff Star-Herald newspaper. He began his newspaper career selling advertising for his local newspaper. His first job as publisher was at the age of 20. For 32 years, he has served as publisher for newspapers in Arkansas, Alabama, Missouri, Kansas and Nebraska. Prior to coming to Scottsbluff in 2005, he was at Fremont for 13 years.

Holland has served on the board of the Oregon Trail Community Foundation, Northfield Retirement Community, Scottsbluff YMCA and the Scottsbluff/Gering Rotary Club. He is currently the vice president of the Nebraska Press Association.

Holland has also served as board president for the United Way of Western Nebraska and the Chamber of Commerce.

Dawne Wolfe – Visionary Super Star Award

Jim Holland – Trailblazer Award
Login to leave a comment