LOGIN or REGISTER for exclusive access to premium content

Good Morning friend!
A full slate of candidates set for local elections
March 06, 2014 Jerry Purvis   

Read more by Jerry Purvis
The March 3 filing deadline has passed and both incumbents and new people have stepped up to serve in public office.

In the mayor’s race for Gering, incumbent Edwin Mayo is seeking a second term and will be challenged by Tony Kaufman.

For Gering City Council, Ward I incumbent Dan Smith is being challenged by Monnette Ross, who served a brief interim term on the council after the resignation of Joyce Hillman-Kortum.

In Ward II, incumbent Rebecca Shields will be challenged by former Gering City Clerk Kerri Berge. Ward III incumbent Julie Morrison is running unopposed and in Ward IV, incumbent Jill McFarland is being challenged by Phillip Holliday.

Gering residents will also elect three members to the school board. Incumbents are Mary Winn and Brian Copsey. Brady Shaul, A.J. Moore and Robert Rahmig are also running.

Scottsbluff voters will also elect three at-large positions to its city council. Randy Meininger, the city’s current mayor, is seeking re-election. Also in the race are newly appointed members Mark McCarthy and Elizabeth Hilyard. Jordan Colwell and Nathan Green are also running.

Lee Dick, former activities director at Scottsbluff Public Schools, was a late filer for a position on the school board. Others in the race are Ralph Paez and incumbents Bob Kinsey, Ruth Kozal and Mark Lang.

The City of Terrytown will have a Mayor’s race this year. Terrytown city council member Christopher Perales will challenge two-term mayor Kent Greenwalt. A year ago Greenwalt said he would likely run again for the position because of his dedication to the community but also indicated that new leadership would be welcomed. Perales, a Gering police officer, was elected to the city council in 2012.

In Ward I for Terrytown City Council, Charles Armstrong has filed for the position. Incumbent Brad Van Pelt will not seek re-election, as he is moving out of the city limits.

In Terrytown’s Ward II, incumbent council member Jerry Green is running for another term. He is being challenged by Brian Neilsen.

All the city council and school board races will not appear on the ballot until the Nov. 4 general election.

In Scotts Bluff County races, some elected officials are running unopposed, including Assessor Amy Ramos, Clerk Vera Dulaney, Register of Deeds Jean Bauer, Clerk of the District Court Ann Rosenberry and Public Defender Bernie Straetker.

Dave Eubanks has filed for County Attorney after Doug Warner announced he would not seek another term. And with the retirement of County Treasurer Gwenn Greeley, two candidates have filed – Heather Hauschild and Jennifer Eskam.

For the County Board of Commissioners, District V incumbent Mark Masterton is running unopposed and will not appear on the ballot until November. In District III, incumbent Sherry Blaha is facing challenger Cheryl Braunbeck in the Republican primary. And in District I, incumbent Mike Marker will not seek re-election. Four Republicans will vie for that seat in May – Chuck Cowan, Kirk Arnold, Mark Reichert and Ryan Reuter.

Filing late for the Ward II seat on the Minatare City Council was Jonathan Grumbles.

And the Morrill School Board has a crowded field of candidates, including David Sherrod, Connie Starcher, Cynthia Guerue and Bill Stauffer.
Login to leave a comment