LOGIN or REGISTER for exclusive access to premium content

Good Afternoon friend!
Gering Junior Honor Society inducts 25 members
May 15, 2014 Jerry Purvis   

Read more by Jerry Purvis
Last week, the Gering Freshman Academy inducted 25 new members into the school chapter of the National Junior Honor Society (NJHS).

Sponsor Calico Cowan said the new membership included 10 freshmen and 15 eighth graders. “There are five areas we look at for membership,” she said. “We look at scholarship, which is grades, leadership, service, citizenship and character.”

Membership in the NJHS is about more than just good grades. It’s about getting involved in the betterment of the community. Last year, members raised funds to help a fellow member whose family home had experienced a devastating fire.

“The active year of NJHS membership is the freshman year,” Cowan said. “Our members worked the concession stand when the Lions Club had their big basketball tournament. We also raised money for Pennies for Patients and went Christmas caroling at some of the area retirement centers.”

She added the group has been great to work with and members are always willing to dive in and help whenever and wherever they’re asked. “Some of my standing members gave speeches,” she said. “There was a miscommunication and one member found out late about the speech, but she put a speech together rather quickly and did a wonderful job.”

Eighth graders inducted into NJHS were Sheridan Blanco, Payton Flower, Delaney Dean, Rachel Garland, Alyssa Greeley, MaKinzie Gregory, Carsyn Long, Ashley Maschmeier, Adam Moench, Nicole Patton, Tyler Pszanka, Victoria Schwartz, Jessica Svoboda, Kaetlyn Todd and Mario Ybarra.

Ninth grade inductees were Jaylen Beam, Mykel Garcia, Jacob Hansen, Sydney Havengar, Baily Kreider, Colter Robertus, Dalton Scott, Maya Villar, Tanner Walker and Trey Winkler.

Standing members are Brittney Adamson, Danika Atchison, Kaylee Bohnsack, Serephine Bonnell, Rebecca Boyd, Courtney Conn, Mariah Conn, Brianna Eckerberg, Whitney Kleich, Grant Maser, Samantha Powers, Rebekah Rawlings, Shelley Reza, Corey Robinson, Rebecca Svoboda, Austin Schilz and Allison Wilson.
Login to leave a comment