LOGIN or REGISTER for exclusive access to premium content

Good Morning friend!
Gering girls’ softball gets new head coach
August 21, 2014 Jerry Purvis   

Read more by Jerry Purvis

Photo by Kay Grote/Gering Citizen - The 2014 Gering girls’ softball team is, front row from left, Anastacia Carabajal, Dakota Wademan, Isabel Thompson, Chelcey Mannel, Mikayla Butler, Brooke Doggett, and Ciera Booker. Second row from left, Messina Maley, Marley Garcia, Autumn Buehler, Megan Copsey, Bailey Chamness, McKenna Copsey, Raemona Borgman, Karina Clark, Kylee Steele. Third row from left, Kaylee Bohnsack, Jacey Marietta, Allie Wilson, Becca Svoboda, and Annessa Escamilla. Fourth row from left, Kenzie Schlaepfer, Jessica Svoboda, Tori Hoagland, Paige Peterson, Sheridan Blanco, Kaetlyn Todd, and Delaney Dean.

A solid foundation of returning players is expected to bring the Gering girls’ softball team more success for the 2014 season. And the team also has a new head coach in Tim Gonzales.

“The girls seem to be gelling pretty good with each other so far,” Gonzales said of the team. “We’re looking to be a faster team this year and to continue the power hitting we had last year.”
The Gering girls posted a 20-10 season in 2013 and hope to improve that record this year. “We have both younger players and some experiences ones, so I think we’ll have a good season,” Gonzales said. “I can see them getting better with every game.”

He mentioned several seniors who have developed tremendously over the last year. Pitcher Mikala Butler spent the summer with a traveling team and got a lot of experience at the plate. Ciera Booker at shortstop has also been putting in some solid performances and Brooke Doggett brings a heavy bat. Isabel Thompson, who brings a lot of speed to the team, has been a varsity starter since she was a freshman.

“We have strong leadership and the team follows them,” Gonzales said. “They’re all doing really great.”
He added he’d like to see a strong finish at the end of season and seeing the team make a run at districts. “I just don’t want them to fall short,” he said. “We’re just taking small steps forward as they adjust to me as a new coach. I believe we’re on a good pace and right where we should be.”

Gering Softball Schedule

Friday, Aug. 22 at Aurora-St. Paul Invitational – 4:30 p.m.
Tuesday, Aug. 26 at Scottsbluff V/JV Doubleheader – 4/5 p.m.
Saturday, Aug. 30 at Holdrege Invitational – 9 a.m.
Tuesday, Sept. 2 at Alliance V/JV – 4/6 p.m.
Thursday, Sept. 4 at Scottsbluff JV Doubleheader – 5 p.m.
Saturday, Sept. 6 at McCook Invitational – 9 a.m.
Tuesday, Sept. 9 Home v. Chadron V/JV – 4/6 p.m.
Friday – Saturday, Sept. 12 – 13 at Scottsbluff Invitational – TBA
Tuesday, Sept. 16 Home v. Chase County Doubleheader – 4 p.m.
Thursday, Sept. 18 Home v. Scottsbluff V/JV – 5/6:45 p.m.
Saturday, Sept. 20 at North Platte Invitational – 12 p.m.
Tuesday, Sept. 23 at Chadron V/JV – 4/6 p.m.
Thursday, Sept. 25 at Ogallala – 3/5 p.m.
Saturday, Sept. 27 at Alliance JV Tournament – 10 a.m.
Tuesday, Sept. 30 Home v. Alliance V/JV – 4/6 p.m.
Thursday, Oct. 2 at Scottsbluff JV Doubleheader – 4 p.m.
Thursday – Friday, Oct. 9 – 10 Districts – TBA
Login to leave a comment

Comments