LOGIN or REGISTER for exclusive access to premium content

Good Afternoon friend!
Kaufman wins Gering’s Mayor race: Greenwalt remains Terrytown mayor, Shaul earns Gering school board seat, Gering’s Ward II is five-vote call
November 06, 2014 Jerry Purvis   

Read more by Jerry Purvis

Tony Kaufman

Gering will have a new mayor in December, as challenger Tony Kaufman, in his first bid for public office, pulled out a big 1,787 to 622 win over incumbent Edwin Mayo.

“This has been a very humbling evening for me,” Kaufman said Tuesday night. “I’ve had a really strong core of support. I look forward to working with the council and the community to position our city for the future.”

He added the results told him the residents were ready for a change. “The people wanted transparency in government and I see this as a way for them to get involved. I just see us getting stronger and getting more done for the benefit of the community.”

Gering City Council member Julie Morrison was re-elected, running unopposed in Ward III. In Ward IV, Phillip Holliday was elected to his first full term on the council. His challenger, Jill McFarland, who resigned the position, didn’t take her name off the ballot and was not actively campaigning, still received some votes in the ward.

Ward I incumbent Dan Smith held on for a 453-311 win over challenger Monnette Ross. And totals from the last election report of Tuesday night had Ward II incumbent Rebecca Shields narrowly defeating challenger Kerri Schnase-Berge by a 288-283 total. However, provisional and absentee ballots are still to be counted.

Gering School Board incumbents Mary Winn and Brian Copsey also won their second terms to the board. They will be joined by newcomer Brady Shaul, who will replace retiring 12-year member Mike Brunner.

Membership on the Scottsbluff School Board will change next year. Incumbents Ruth Kozal and Mark Lang won re-election. But board president Bob Kinsey was defeated by newcomer Kyle Long.

For Scottsbluff City Council, member and current mayor Randy Meininger led the field with 2,142 votes. The other two council members elected were Elizabeth Hillyard with 1,612 votes and Jordan Colwell with 1,545.

Kent Greenwalt tallied 102 votes to remain Mayor of Terrytown over challenger and current council member Chris Perales. Perales remains as a council member in Ward I and will be joined by Bryan Armstrong,
who ran unopposed. And in Ward II, incumbent Jerry Green was a 74-30 winner over challenger Brian Nielsen.

Scotts Bluff County will have a new commissioner in Mark Reichert, who will serve on the board from District I. He emerged victorious from a primary field of four candidates after incumbent Mike Marker chose not to seek re-election.

In District III, incumbent Sherry Blaha fought off a primary challenge to run unopposed in the general election. And County Commission Chairman and incumbent Mark Masterton ran unopposed in both the primary and the general.

A new County Treasurer was also elected. Heather Hauschild ran unopposed after fighting off a primary challenge. She succeeds retiring Gwenn Greeley.

Another new face in county government is County Attorney Dave Eubanks, who succeeds retiring Doug Warner. And Scott Bosse was elected as the new County Surveyor.

All other incumbent county officials were given another term in the general election. Vera Dulaney is the County Clerk, Jean Bauer as Register of Deeds, Ann Rosenberry for Clerk of the District Court, Mark Overman is the County Sheriff, Bernie Straetker as Public Defender and Amy Ramos as County Assessor.

Gering banker John Stinner Sr. was elected as the next State Senator from District 48, which covers Scotts Bluff County. His opponent, Gering attorney Mike Meister, was only able to get 30 percent of the vote. The final election night report had Stinner ahead by 6,443-2,719. Stinner succeeds John Harms, who retired due to term limits.

In Minatare, Gary Koke, Sheri McAllister and Jana Schwartz were all elected to the Minatare School Board. On the city council, Trevor Schwartz easily won a seat in Ward 1 over challenger Cheryl Spencer. In Ward 2, Marcella Kreiling was also a strong winner over Jonathan Grumbles.

Brian Taylor was re-elected as Mayor of Mitchell with 267 votes. Donald Stall and Sean Hopkins were elected to the city council.
In propositions facing Scottsbluff voters, they approved the renewal of the city’s current one percent sales tax and implementing the city’s economic development program by a 2,557 to 785 margin.

Scottsbluff voters also approved a nearly $30 million bond issue to renovate the majority of the Scottsbluff High School building.
County voters also went along with the statewide approval of Initiative Measure 425, which would raise Nebraska’s minimum wage to nine dollars an hour by 2016. The state minimum wage was last increased in 2009.

Login to leave a comment