LOGIN or REGISTER for exclusive access to premium content

Good Afternoon friend!
Ballot set for local candidates
March 04, 2016 Jerry Purvis   

Read more by Jerry Purvis
Both familiar faces and newcomers will appear in this year’s local elections, and the race for Gering City Council in Ward I could generate some interest. With three candidates filing for the position, the race will first appear on the May 10 primary ballot.

Susan Wiedeman served as Gering Mayor for one term from 2006 to 2010, and 1˝ years prior to that as a city council member from Ward IV. She has since moved into Ward I and will appear on the May ballot. The Ward I council seat is open as incumbent Justin Allred chose not to seek re-election after one term.

Facing Wiedeman will be Alan Doll, who has also served as a council member in Ward I prior to being elected to the Gering School Board. Rounding out the Ward I city council ballot is newcomer Jennifer Baird.

The two candidates with the most votes advance to the Nov. 8 general election, which will also feature races in Gering’s Wards II, III and IV.

In Ward II, incumbent Don Christensen, seeking third term, will face challenger Michael Gillen. Long-time incumbent Larry Gibbs chose not to seek re-election, so two newcomers will face off in Ward III. Ben Backus, who ran unsuccessfully against Gibbs four years ago, goes up against Jeff Allen. One-term incumbent Troy Cowan is unopposed in the re-election to his council seat in Ward IV.

Candidates filing for the three open seats on the Gering School Board are Neal Johnson, incumbent BJ Peters, Frank Marquez, Brent Holliday and Joshua R. Lacy.

For Scottsbluff City Council, incumbents Ray Gonzales and Scott Shaver have filed for re-election.

Candidates filing for Scottsbluff School Board are incumbents Paul Snyder and Terry Gilliland. John Selzer chose not to seek an additional term.

In races for Scotts Bluff County Commissioner, District 4 incumbent Ken Meyer is running unopposed. However, the District 2 race is drawing more attention for the primary ballot. Incumbent Steve Stratton of Lyman, who succeeded his father Carl at the position, chose not run again. Glenn Schleve, Tony Schuler Sam Summerville and Tim Koob are the four Republicans in contention for the seat. They’re joined by Libertarian candidate Tyrel Manley.

The Terrytown City Council race has Sherry Fiebelstad running against incumbent Marsha Sherlock in Ward I. In Ward II, Christopher Perales is running unopposed.

For the City of Minatare, Lynn Wright has filed for council in Ward I. Bob Baldwin, the Ward I incumbent, will run for Mayor after incumbent Jerry Harms chose not to seek re-election. In Ward II, Jon Grumbles is running unopposed.

There are three 4-year positions and one 3-year seat available on the Minatare School Board, but as of the filing deadline, no one had submitted their name.
Login to leave a comment